Drake, Bad Bunny, And Many More Artists Get Added To Steely & Clevie’s Landmark Reggaeton Lawsuit

Bad Bunny, Drake
Canadian rapper Drake and Puerto Rican Reggaeton star Bad Bunny are among the dozens of new artists, producers, and record labels recently added to the copyright infringement lawsuit brought by the Jamaican company Steely & Clevie Productions, according to court records obtained by DancehallMag.

The landmark lawsuit is one of the biggest and broadest copyright disputes in the history of recorded music.
It had initially named three primary artists, El Chombo, Daddy Yankee, and Luis Fonsi, in an 82-page complaint last year, but now names a total of 57 primary artists as Defendants in a 228-page amended complaint, filed in a California court on Friday (April 21). 

Drake has been named for his 2016 song One Dance with Wizkid and Kyla, and the 2018 song Mía with Bad Bunny, both of which allegedly ripped off the Dancehall drum patterns and composition from Steely & Clevie’s Fish Market riddim, released back in 1989.

The company alleges that 1,668 other Reggaeton songs have similarly and unlawfully “copied the composition” or used a “sample that copies the composition” of the Fish Market beat (internationally known as Dem Bow).

The 57 primary artists, and their featured artists, producers and record labels were listed in an exhibit attached to the complaint. They include:

Drake, for One Dance with Wizkid and Kyla, which is RIAA-certified Diamond.
  • Bad Bunny, for Mía with Drake, which is RIAA-certified Latin Diamond; and Vete, Solo De Mi, La Santa with Daddy Yankee, Safaera with Jowell & Randy and Nengo Flow, Ignorantes with Sech, which are all certified RIAA Latin Diamond; and 31 other songs.
  • DJ Snake, for Taki Taki with Salena Gomez, Ozuna and Cardi B, which is RIAA-certified 4X Platinum; and 4 other songs.
  • Luis Fonsi, for Despacito (Remix) with Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber, which is RIAA-certified Latin Diamond; and Échame La Culpa with Demi Lovato, which is 3X RIAA-certified Latin Platinum; and 8 other songs.
  • Daddy Yankee, for Rompe; Dura; El Pony; Gasolina; Shaky Shaky; and 38 other songs.
  • Jason Derulo, for Mamacita with Farruko, Love Not War with Nuke, Colors with Maluma, Goodbye with David Guetta, Nicki Minaj, and Willy William.
  • El Chombo, for Dame Tu Cosita with Cutty Ranks. 
  • Enrique Iglesias, for Bailando; and 9 other songs.
  • J Balvin, for Mi Gente with Willy William; Ay Vamos; 6 AM with Farruko; Bonita with Jowell & Randy; Safari with Harrell Williams, BIA and Sky; Ginza; and more.
  • Jay Wheeler, for La Curiosidad with Mike Towers, and more.
  • Jhay Cortez, for No Me Conoce (Remix) with J Balvin and Bad Bunny, and more.
  • Justin Quiles, for DJ No Pare (Remix) with Natti Natasha, Farruko, Zion, and Lenny Taverez y Dalex; and more.
  • Anuel AA, for China with Daddy Yankee, Karol G, Ozuna and J Balvin; Secreto with Karol G; Ella Quiere BeberAmanece with Haze; and Ayer with DJ Nelson, and more.
  • Becky G, for Mayores with Bad Bunny; Sin Pijama with Natti Natasha; Cuando Te Besé with Paulo Londra, and more.
  • Cali Y El Dandee, for Por Fin Te Encontré with Juan Magan and Sebastian Yatra; Nada with Danna Paola; and Sirena, and more.
  • Farruko, for Chillax, with Ky-Mani Marley, and Passion Whine with Sean Paul.
  • Karol G, for Tusa (Remix) with Nicki Minaj; BICHOTAEL MAKINON with Mariah Angeliq; and Mi Cama.
  • Major Lazer, for Lean On with DJ Snake and MØ; Sua Cara with Anitta and Pabllo Vittar; Light It Up with Nyla; and Watch Out For This (Bumaye) with The Flexican, FS Green and Busy Signal.
  • Anitta, for Downtown with J Balvin; Sim Ou Não with Maluma; Paradinha; and Terremoto with Kevinho.
  • Maluma, for Felices los 4, Corazón, El Perdedor, Borro Cassette, Sin Contrato, Hawái, HP, and more.
  • Nicky Jam, for Hasta El Amanecer, El Amante, Travesuras, and more.
  • Ozuna for, Se Preparo, Síguelo Bailando, and Tu Foto, and more.
  • Pitbull for, We Are One (Ole Ola), Hey Ma with Camila Cabello and J Balvin, Como Yo Le Doy with Don Miguelo, and more.
  • Rauw Alejandro, for El Efecto with Chencho Corleone, Fantasías, 2/Catorce, Reloj with Anuel AA, and more.
  • Ricky Martin, for Vente Pa’ Ca with Maluma, Fiebre with Wisin and Yandel, and more.
  • Wisin, for Escápate Conmigo with Ozuna, Adrenalina with Jennifer Lopez and Ricky Martin, Nota de Amor with Daddy Yankee, and more.